Open Accessibility Menu

Advance Directives

Patient-Focused Care in Henry County

Ohio Law recognizes three types of Advance Directives, two of which are the living will and the durable power of attorney for healthcare. The living will allows you to decide and document, in advance, the type of care you would like to receive if you were to become permanently unconscious or terminally ill and unable to communicate. The durable power of attorney for healthcare enables you to select someone to make medical decisions for you when you are unable to do so. Upon admission to Henry County Hospital, you will receive a pamphlet entitled, YOU HAVE THE RIGHT. This pamphlet explains these documents and also answers questions concerning them.

In cooperation with the Ohio Law, Henry County Hospital adheres to policies that guarantee your rights regarding advance directives. These policies ensure that the hospital will respectfully comply with any directives you have previously formulated, to the extent permitted by law, and will provide guidance and assistance if you desire to formulate new or different directives, while you are hospitalized. Please inform your physician or nurse if you would like assistance with advance directives.

You will receive the highest standard of care at Henry County Hospital, even if you have not completed advance directives. However, please feel free to make your wishes known, by discussing your medical care with your physician or nurse.

Henry County Hospital also has a policy that addresses the removal of tube feedings and/or mechanical ventilation from a patient who has not completed advance directives. Please speak with your physician or nurse if you would like to discuss this policy.

The third classification of advance directives implemented by the State of Ohio is the do not resuscitate/comfort care – arrest (DNR/CC-A) and the do not resuscitate/comfort care (DNR/CC) designation.

Do Not Resuscitate Comfort Care - Arrest (DNR/CC-A) is a form of advance directive that directs that a dying person receives full resuscitative care, including life-saving measures until the patient experiences cardiac or respiratory arrest. Once cardiac or respiratory arrest is present, Do Not Resuscitate Comfort Care Measures are implemented.

Please speak with your physician or nurse if you would like more information on comfort care.

Do Not Resuscitate Comfort Care (DNR/CC) directs that a dying person receives care that eases pain and/or suffering, but no resuscitative measures to save or sustain life are activated. Once this directive is activated, you can expect healthcare staff:

  • Will:
  • Suction the airway
  • Administer oxygen
  • Position for comfort
  • Splint or immobilize
  • Control bleeding
  • Provide pain medication
  • Provide emotional support
  • Contact other appropriate health care providers such as hospice, home health, attending physicians/CNP/CNS/PA

  • Will Not:
  • Administer chest compressions
  • Insert artificial airway
  • Administer resuscitative drugs
  • Defibrillate or cardiovert
  • Provide respiratory assistance (other than that listed above)
  • Initiate resuscitative IV
  • Initiate cardiac monitoring